

The Bloedstraat, a narrow passageway in the heart of the Red Light District, connects the Nieuwmarkt with the Oudezijds Achterburgwal. It takes its name from an obscure period in history, with roots dating back to the Middle Ages.
In 1464, the Friars Minor Convent and Church of the "Grey Monks" was established on this site. This religious site formed the centre of the district for centuries. Unfortunately, this glory ended; in 1578, the monastery was razed to the ground, followed by the demolition of the church in 1588.
The name "Blood Street" refers to a room in the former monastery, which may have served as a torture chamber. Interestingly, this area was later associated with one of the darkest chapters in Dutch history.
In 1567, the Duke of Alva established the Raad van Beroerten (Council of Troubles) in the Netherlands. This special court was meant to try people who had been involved in the Iconoclasm or who sympathised in some way with the Dutch Revolt. Soon the council was popularly called the "Blood Council" because of the many death sentences handed down there.
The Duke of Alva, appointed by Philip II as governor, aimed to quickly bring order to the rebellious regions. His ruthless actions earned him the nickname "Iron Duke". The name Bloodstreet today recalls this dark period in Dutch history, in which this area played a central role during the time of the Blood Council.
Any feedback for this story?