

On the left side of the canal, at number 123, is the "House with the Heads". The house gets its name from the six statues of heads protruding from the facade. Legend has it that they are the heads of six robbers from the 17th century, who tried to enter the house through a cellar window. According to the story, the kitchen maid saw the heads sticking in one by one and cut them off with a large meat cleaver.
In reality, however, the six heads on the facade are depictions of Roman gods and goddesses, including Apollo, Ceres, Mercury, Minerva, Bacchus and Diana. The house was designed by city architect Hendrick de Keyser, who was also responsible for the famous design of the Westerkerk. The final realisation of the building was done by his son in 1622 because his father died in 1621.
The House with the Heads is a remarkable example of Dutch Renaissance architecture and remains an important cultural heritage of Amsterdam. It served as a residence for several prominent families in the 17th century, including merchants and regents. The interior of the House with the Heads is not open to the public, but its facade is a sight in itself. The house has an unusual architecture with a richly decorated facade and characteristic details such as carved heads and other ornaments.
Explore a unique collection of books and ideas that shaped free thinking throughout history at the Embassy of the Free Mind. Get your ticket here:
https://www.tiqets.com/en/amsterdam-attractions-c75061/tickets-for-embassy-of-the-free-mind-p974572/?partner=roods.io-177103
Any feedback for this story?