Route Image 1 - Description
Route Image 2 - Description

The Spui

--:--
--:--

Welcome to the Spui, a vibrant place steeped in history and enchanting stories. The name Spui has its origins in the lock that was used to sluice the inland water and turn the outside water. For centuries, water flowed over this place, but since 1882 it has been drained and the Spui has undergone a transformation. Today, it has become a major hub in Amsterdam's bustling city centre, home to the University of Amsterdam and numerous cultural institutions. It also hosts a book market every Friday. 

 

But there is more!

Besides the lock, the Spui is famous for its gateway to the Begijnhof, a peaceful and serene courtyard in the midst of the bustling city. The Begijnhof was founded in the 14th century as a safe haven for beguines, devoted women who dedicated their lives to the faith without being part of a monastic order. Unique in Amsterdam, the Begijnhof is the only remaining Catholic stronghold after the banning of the Catholic faith in the 16th century.

 

But the Spui does not only have ties to Amsterdam's religious history. It is also closely intertwined with the public transport of yesteryear. Before electric trams dominated the streetscape, it was pack animals and especially horses that made public transport in the city possible. In the late nineteenth century, the very first horse tram thundered from Dam Square to Leidseplein via the Spui. And when horsepower was replaced by electricity, a tram even ran from the Spui to the beloved seaside resort of Zandvoort, an impressive distance of no less than 28.1 kilometres.

Any feedback for this story?