Route Image 1 - Description

Kommandantenhaus

--:--
--:--

You are standing before the Kommandantenhaus, also known as the Alte Kommandantur, at Unter den Linden 1. Originally built between 1653 and 1654 by royal architect Johann Gregor Memhardt, it was the first stone residence on Friedrichswerder island, gifted by Elector Frederick William as a reward for his loyal master builder. By 1795, it became the Berlin garrison command headquarters. In 1873–74, it underwent a grand rebuilding in Neo‑Renaissance style, adding another floor and a rusticated façade adorned with monumental terracotta eagles. 

 

Throughout its history, the Kommandantenhaus hosted significant figures: during the Napoleonic occupation, the French writer Stendhal resided here; in 1918 the SPD leader Otto Wels operated from here during the Berlin revolution; and in 1944, resistance member Paul von Hase coordinated operations from its offices. Destroyed by Allied bombing in World War II, the building was demolished in 1950. After decades of an empty lot, Bertelsmann acquired the site in 1999 and reconstructed the façade from 2001 to 2003 using original Silesian sandstone from the same quarries as the 19th century.

Any feedback for this story?