
The Musée du Luxembourg is located on Rue de Vaugirard and dates back to 1750. Originally, the museum was housed in the eastern wing of the Luxembourg Palace and displayed the royal collection. In 1818, it became the first museum for contemporary art in France.
In 1884, the museum moved to the former orangery of the palace. Since 2010, it has been part of the Réunion des Musées Nationaux, focusing on temporary exhibitions. Important paintings and sculptures that were once in the Musée du Luxembourg have since moved to the Louvre and the Musée d'Orsay.
The museum now organizes two major exhibitions per year and focuses on themes such as the Renaissance, the relationship between art and power, and the cultural significance of the Luxembourg area.
Any feedback for this story?