
Construction of the Gothic Dom Church in Utrecht began in 1254, intended to replace the Romanesque cathedral that Bishop Adelbold had erected in the 11th century. To ensure continuity in services during construction, they largely retained the floor plan of the original Romanesque church.
The construction of the Dom Tower started in 1321 on the west side of the cathedral. Originally intended as a power symbol of the ecclesiastical chapter, this tower was to be about 126 metres high. However, during construction, structural problems were encountered, leading to a modification of the design to a height of about 112 metres.
The completion of the Dom tower took place in 1382, after which attention shifted to the construction of the choir, which was completed around 1410. Then the transept was built in 1480 and the nave in 1517. However, the vaulting of the nave was omitted. A restoration of the Cathedral tower took place between 1519 and 1525. However, due to the collapse of the indulgence business after criticism from Maarten Luther, there was no more money to complete the nave, so the necessary air arches were not built either.
After the Reformation in 1580, the Cathedral remained in the hands of the Protestant Cathedral Chapter. But after the Disaster Year 1672, when the French occupiers made heavy demands, the chapter could no longer afford to maintain the church. In 1674, a tornado destroyed the Cathedral's nave, and due to lack of funds, the damage could not be repaired. The remaining parts were sold and the ruin was enclosed with a wall.
In 1826, the ruins of the nave were cleared, leading to the creation of the current Cathedral Square, which was officially given that name in 1912. Despite never being completed, the Dom Church remains an impressive monument and a crucial part of Utrecht's history.
Any feedback for this story?